District 4-A1  Lions International
Lions  All  Star  

Article Date: Jun 8, 2013




As part of the celebration for the 40th anniversary of the Central California Lions All-Star Football Game, members of the organizing committee are pleased to announce the selection of an all-time top team representing all 39 previous games played.

There are three players who have been added to the teams since the 35th anniversary all-time team was chosen – NFL players Trumaine Johnson from Edison of Stockton and Amini Silatolu from West of Tracy and current Fresno State standout Cody Wichmann of Mariposa.

Johnson played in the 35th game for the North and was the game’s MVP. He is now a member of the St. Louis Rams. Silatolu played in the 34th game for the North and is now a member of the Carolina Panthers. Wichmann was the defensive MVP and also played tight end for the South in 2010 at 6-5, 280 pounds. He’s now listed at 6-6, 320 at Fresno State and could be following the same path as former Mariposa lineman Logan Mankins did to get to the NFL.

Here are the 40th annual all-Lions Game all-stars:


South Offense

WR Eddie Macha (Atwater) 1998

TE Logan Mankins (Mariposa) 2000

OL Tony Slaton (Merced) 1979

OL Bill McGill (Modesto) 1981

OL Tim Galas (Central Catholic) 1978

OL Jeremy Mankins (Hughson) 1995

OL Lucais MacKay (Hughson) 1999

QB Tony Graziani (Downey, Modesto) 1992

RB Raymond Lankford (Grace Davis) 1985

FB Marvin Eastman (Merced) 1987

RB Rodney Davis (Dos Palos) 2000


South Defense

DL Dave Porath (Atwater) 1978

DL Robby Valenzuela (Grace Davis) 2001

DL Ray Valladao (Atwater) 1989

DL Mark Roberts (Modesto) 2006

LB Josh Leslie (Oakdale) 1997

LB Josh Yarbrough (Oakdale) 2003

LB Byron Storer (Central Catholic) 2002

DB Rodney Rice (Atwater) 1982

DB Bobby Monges (Oakdale) 2001

DB Sam Vink (Ceres) 1990

DB Ray Wetzel (Central Catholic) 1988


South Multi-Purpose

OL/DL Jon Giesel (Los Banos) 2000

OL/DL Josh Murdock (Golden Valley) 1998

WR/TE Imani Percoats (Los Banos) 1995

OL/DL Nick Steitz (Los Banos) 2000

WR/DB Daryn Weese (Ceres) 1991

QB/LB Mike Van Worth (Dos Palos) 2000

TE/LB Cody Wichmann (Mariposa) 2010


North Offense

WR Lonzell Hill (Stagg) 1983

WR Webster Slaughter (Franklin) 1982

TE Brian Peets (Linden) 1974

OL Derek Kennard (Edison) 1980

OL Brad Smith (Tracy) 1980

OL Greg Bishop (Lodi) 1989

OL Gary Barlow (Tracy) 1985

OL Amini Silatolu (West, Tracy) 2007

QB Greg Ennis (Tracy) 1984

RB Tyronne Gross (Lincoln) 2001

RB Aaron Jenkins (Edison) 1984


North Defense

DL Dennis Edwards (Edison) 1978

DL Kevin Rooney (St. Mary's) 2000

DL Brandon Santos (St. Mary's) 1996

LB Eric Williams (Stagg) 1980

LB Mike Serpa (Tracy) 1984

LB Josh Parry (Sonora) 1996

LB Brad Vassar (Sonora) 1975

DB Alfred Gross (Franklin) 1979

DB Don Morgan (Manteca) 1994

DB Neil Parry (Sonora) 1998

DB Kevin Arbet (St. Mary's) 1999


North Multi-Purpose

DE Justin Airola (Escalon) 2002

LB/FB Kevin Adams (Lincoln) 1995

RB Damon Barkley (Lincoln) 1990

TE/DE Justin Belcher (Lincoln) 2002

RB/DB Tim Brown (Franklin) 2002

WR/DB Tim Brown (Tracy) 1986

DL Steve Dunigan (Manteca) 2003

LB John Gonzalez (Tracy) 1981

WR/KR Latief Grim (Franklin) 1996

DL/FB Dell Hawkins (Tracy) 1999

WR Ruben Jackson (Edison) 2003

WR/DB Trumaine Johnson (Edison) 2008

RB Lance Martin (Stagg) 2000

WR James Newsome (Edison) 1998

WR Jeff Simmons (Edison) 1978

RB/DB Larry Wallace (Lincoln) 1988



Game Notes


•This year’s game is being played at Modesto Junior College for the second year after it moved in 2012 from The University of Pacific’s Stagg Memorial Stadium. The game kicks off at 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 15 with pre-game festivities starting at 6 p.m.


•From the department of the strange but true is that fact that both quarterbacks this year for the North are named Zack Johnson. The Zack Johnson from Calaveras of San Andreas and the Zack Johnson from Kimball of Tracy both earned their selections by having outstanding seasons.


*The Lions All-Star Football Classic is one of the four oldest-running prep football all-star games in California with the first game held in 1974. The North won last year’s game 30-0 in what was an emotional night for MVP Ryan Wood and his twin brother, Brian, who both played the previous season at Stagg of Stockton. The brothers hooked up for the game’s first touchdown on a 33-yard touchdown pass. Brian later set up another score playing quarterback on a 42-yard run. Ryan later starred for the North team playing defensive back. They played the game in honor of their grandmother, Phyllis Rooney, who died in a car accident five weeks before the game. The victory improved the North’s advantage in the series to 24-14-1, including eight wins in the last nine years.


•We are a non-profit game and depend on pregame publicity from the media. Thanks in advance for your understanding.


© Lions All Star Football
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management